Monhegan, not for the socialite, the gussied up or the spa crowd…

Harbor - Monhegan Island, ME

Whooooaaaaaa, what a place. Okay, so you’re probably tired of hearing me talk about Monhegan Island… it simply can’t be helped! What a great place. It’s not for everyone, and that’s for sure. Several people come to mind off the top of my head that would be so disappointed… you know, the people, the ones that are there for the shopping, or great golf or tennis, the luxurious spa treatments, etc. Well, if that’s what you’re expecting, change your plans and go to the Ritz. Nothing wrong with the Ritz, I happen to LOVE the RC, however… I love this more. If you want a vacation where you get up in the morning, take a shower, slap on some sunscreen, and head downstairs for some delightful coffee and conversation then to breakfast for eggs and lobster, blueberry pancakes, granola, yogurt, fruit, etc. etc. then THIS is the place for you. A place where you spend the day walking down dirt roads, moving out of the way for the few trucks (cars have right of way), inhaling a little dirt, hiking the many paths on this small island that takes you to one beautiful place after another then this is your kind of place. Just don’t be one of those people who gets all gussied up with the high heels and is worried about getting dirty. You, my dear friend will be miserable! There isn’t entertainment, phones in the room, TV, hair dryers or any of that ‘stuff’ that makes us multi task. There ARE wonderful chairs looking out to the sea, wonderful friends to get to know and a feeling of calm like you’ve never felt in your life!

6 thoughts on “Monhegan, not for the socialite, the gussied up or the spa crowd…

  1. I’m telling you there are so many workshops on the island, you would benefit from them in the biggest way and have a blast at the same time! Truly think about it!

  2. ha Ha! When I go to Monhegan Island, I tell the Trailing Yew truck at the wharf to please take my luggage, I head straight walking to Fish Beach. I paint all day from 8 am till 5:30 then head to Trailing Yew. I check into the cottages. I wash my oil paint off my hands. I eat dinner at their dining room. All of the artists and art collectors are in the dining room eating together talking! Each night there are same or different artists and collectors to meet. The conversation is worth the 100$ night fee! I have eaten dinner with many famous artists! I have sold paintings after dinner to collectors I ate dinner with! Once I had an impromtu art showing in the bathroom. This was the only place there was light from electricity! Ha Ha. After dinner I walk around or paint more! Some nights I paint! One night I sat on the rocks at lobstercove and talked and drank wine with two different artists! I sometimes get up at 4am and walk around taking photos. I always get Russ to take me by dory over to Manana Island. I paint plein aire at the little dock of the views of Monhegan from Manana. Once I got lost in Cathedral woods. I found my way out by heading towards the sun. I hit the main road trail and got back before dinner with moments to spare! I almost died on Monhegan once. I painted up high on the cliffs. I kept my equipment there with a rain coat overtop to keep it dry incase it rained. I was finished finally painting there. I got all my equipment ready to take down the cliff. My hat was blown off my head. I ran to get my hat, tripped on a rock, luckily landed a foot from the cliff on my stomach. Got my hat. Almost! What a place to die at!

  3. OMG you would be a blast to have dinner with, ha ha… you have so many great stories! Isn’t that the truth… if ya have to die, that’s the place, ha ha… just not yet!

Leave a Reply

